ACAP10

Xt22 in Attack-Tornado Warning

Wed Nov 26, 2008 4:13 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHDm93tI4Ok

Sounds great...I didn't think Maryland/Virginia got that many tornadoes. I'm surprised they have tornado sirens at all. I suppose they're just left over CD sirens.

Mr. Machine

Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:03 pm

Oh sure, we get a few tornados each year. Usually nothing more than quick funnels from severe thunderstorms (not like those massive midwest supercells), but we certainly see them.

I don't live in the area of that video but I was working nearby that day, and was in the path of the storm. Things got pretty hairy that afternoon, I found out later I was within 5 miles of one reported funnel.

MD seems to be dominated by Federal; check out nearly any fire department in any county and you're sure to see an XT22 or Model 5. There are other sirens, of course, if you're looking for them. I'm still learning Maryland's CD history (slowly), and yes many areas had Civil Defense programs back in the day. Being so close to D.C. is a considerable factor; in downtown Frederick (one place I've lived and still visit often) there are numerous Fallout Shelter signs scattered throughout the city.

jkvernon

Wed Nov 26, 2008 8:41 pm

La Plata has at least one Whelen WPS-2805. From what I understand, La Plata has been hit twice by F5s.

Mr. Machine

Wed Nov 26, 2008 9:29 pm

There have been some monsters in the past, sure, and there's always possibility for more in the future... we just don't have the same expectancy for them as those of you further west. That storm that came through, in the video, was a nice change of pace from the usual severe thunderstorm with hail and a tornado watch but no funnel.